Romances Inciertos – Un autre Orlando (Creation 2017)

© Nino Laisné

 

Romances inciertos focuses on Spanish music of oral tradition which can be traced back to the 16th and 17th centuries. Its melodies have never ceased to be interpreted, modified and transformed. Each culture as well as each era reappropiated these poems, relentlessly updating their heroines’ adventures. Hence those melodies were introduced to Andalusian flamenco, to Sephardic music and even to the sixties’ Yé-yé music.

We have been focusing on two figures: La Doncella Guerrera and La Tarara, who, over the centuries and through contact with those amalgamations, have developed a form of sexual ambiguity. Some of these melodies have also been used in the form of parody by transvestite cabarets. La Doncella Guerrera takes us on the trail of a young girl who has gone to war disguised as a man. For many centuries, this girl would end up admitting deception in order to marry the King’s son, but in some rare versions she would appear resolutely determined, preferring to be carried away by waves while keeping her secret. La Tarara, meanwhile, portrays an Andalusian gypsy who, following an
unhappy love, oscillates between mysticism and seduction. Through daring versions of these couplets we later find out about her mysterious androgyny.

Through these folk melodies an amazingly similar figure to Virginia Woolf’s Orlando emerges. This young lord from the Royal Court of England lives for four centuries and regularly falls into a deep sleep that leads him to be born again with female
features. This transgender character pays visits to distant communities (Ottoman, Gypsy, etc.) and dedicates his/her life to the writing of one single poem, which is influenced by the eras he/she goes through and echoes the endless mutations of the arts and societies.

The structure of the performed tunes confronts multiple versions of the same story which multiplies and traces the migration of these melodies, oscillating between baroque languages and popular traditions. On stage, these songs are revived under blended tunes which are carried by four virtuoso musicians (theorbo, baroque guitar, bandoneon, percussion) trained in art music and Iberian folk.

Through the challenge of song and dance, this other Orlando dives into an epic form whose incessant metamorphoses never satiate the quest for an ideal form.

 

Creation team
conception, stage and music direction: Nino Laisné
conception, choreography: François Chaignaud
Performed by:
Voice and dance: François Chaignaud
Theorbo and baroque guitar: Daniel Zapico ou Pablo Zapico
Bandoneon: Jean-Baptiste Henry
Viola de gamba: François Joubert-Caillet
Percussions: Pere Olivé
Lighting design and technical manager: Anthony Merlaud
costumes: Kevin Auger, Helena Petit, María Ángel Buesa Pueyo
Administration — production: Barbara Coffy, Jeanne Lefèvre, Céline Peychet
Tour planning: Sarah De Ganck – Art Happens

Production: Chambre 415. & Vlovajob Pru
Vlovajob Pru is funded by the Ministere de la Culture de la Communication (DRAC Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes) and the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes regional council. Vlovajob Pru receives support from the French institute for its projects abroad.
François Chaignaud is an associate artist at Bonlieu Scène nationale Annecy.
Nino Laisné is a member of the Académie de France in Madrid – Casa de Velázquez.

Coproduction
Projet DIPTIC Bonlieu Scène nationale Annecy and La Bâtie – Festival de Genève, with the support of Saint-Gervais Genève Le Théâtre, Théâtre National de Chaillot — Paris, deSingel — Anvers, la Maison de la musique — Nanterre, L’Arsenal — Metz

Support
This project was invited for a residency at the CN D Pantin, Ménagerie de verre — Paris, Teatros del Canal — Madrid, and received support from Tandem Scène nationale Arras-Douai, PACT Zollverein Essen, the Pépinières Européennes pour Jeunes Artistes and the Huesca city council in the context of the residency Park in Progress 12..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Romances Inciertos – Un autre Orlando (Création 2017)

 

© Nino Laisné / Chambre 415

© Nino Laisné / Chambre 415

 

Dans la lignée du travail de Nino Laisné (pensionnaire à l’Académie de France à Madrid) autour des cultures hispanophones, Romances inciertos : un autre Orlando invente une forme scénique faisant dialoguer la musique, le chant et la danse en réunissant cinq interprètes sur un plateau. François Chaignaud, chorégraphe, danseur et chanteur, incarne à travers des partitions chorégraphiques et vocales, une forme d’ambiguïté autour de figures paradoxales du folklore espagnol. Sur scène, quatre solistes issus d’ensembles de musiques anciennes ou folkloriques l’accompagnent (Daniel Zapico au théorbe et à la guitare baroque, Jean-Baptiste Henry au bandonéon, François Joubert-Caillet pour la viole de gambe et Pere Olivé aux percussions historiques).

L’écriture scénique croise des genres issus des traditions populaires (art du romance, flamenco, jota) et des cultures dites savantes (ballet de cour, musique baroque). Construite à la manière d’un opéra ou d’une épopée, la pièce dévoile – en plusieurs actes – une multitude de transformations.

Autour des interprètes, un décor revisitant des détails de tapisseries historiques forme un écrin mouvant. Cette scénographie évolue selon un principe d’élévation et d’effondrement, confrontant le plateau à des proportions constamment différentes. En miroir, les costumes réalisés selon des techniques artisanales espagnoles de plusieurs époques jouent sur un rapport d’échelle entre le corps et son environnement.

Cette mise en espace et l’association de la musique et de la danse conduisent à imaginer ce projet pour des plateaux de taille moyenne ou grande, ainsi que des lieux patrimoniaux.

 

Création prévue en septembre 2017 au Théâtre Saint-Gervais Genève dans le cadre de La Bâtie-Festival de Genève

 

Equipe de création
Conception, mise en scène et direction musicale : Nino Laisné
Conception et chorégraphie : François Chaignaud
Interprétation :
  Chant et danse : François Chaignaud 
  Théorbe et guitare baroque : Daniel Zapico ou Pablo Zapico
  Bandonéon : Jean-Baptiste Henry
  Viole de gambe : François Joubert-Caillet
  Percussions : Pere Olivé
Création lumière et régie générale : Anthony Merlaud
Régisseur son en tournée : en cours
Création costumes : Kevin Auger, Carmen Granell, Helena Petit, María Ángel Buesa Pueyo
Administration — production : Barbara Coffy, Jeanne Lefèvre, Céline Peychet
Diffusion : Sarah De Ganck – Art Happens  

Production déléguée : Vlovajob Pru & Chambre 415
Vlovajob Pru est subventionnée par le Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication (DRAC Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes) et le Conseil Régional d’Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes. Vlovajob Pru reçoit l’aide de l’Institut Français pour ses projets à l’étranger.
François Chaignaud est artiste associé à Bonlieu Scène nationale Annecy.
Nino Laisné est membre de l’Académie de France à Madrid – Casa de Velázquez.

Coproduction
Bonlieu Scène nationale Annecy et La Bâtie-Festival de Genève dans le cadre du programme INTERREG France-Suisse 2014-2020, Théâtre National de Chaillot à Paris, deSingel Anvers, la Maison de la musique de Nanterre, L’Arsenal à Metz

Soutiens
Ce projet a reçu le soutien de la Région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, la Spedidam, PACT Zollverein Essen, Tandem Scène nationale Arras-Douai, Ayuntamiento de Anguiano – La Rioja, les Pépinières Européennes pour Jeunes Artistes et l’Ayuntamiento de Huesca dans le cadre de la résidence Park in Progress 12, et a bénéficié d’un accueil studio aux Teatros del canal à Madrid, au Centre National de la Danse à Pantin et la Ménagerie de verre à Paris (Studiolab).

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous pouvez utiliser ces balises et attributs HTML : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>