© Martin Raphaël Martiq - Fondation Louis Vuitton - 2017
Slider

Récital

“Amidst the immensity of the Shchukin exhibition on display at the Fondation Louis Vuitton, inspiring visitors to meander and explore the art and languages presented therein, our objective was create a haven, a salon, a dream-like interior, surrounded by the impressive Matisse ensemble gathered there.

 

“Recreating the setting of the salon recital, an event that played a major role in the advent of the 20th century’s choreographic contemporaneousness, we present a collection of short pieces that unfold in the disconcerting intimacy of this domestic theatre.

 

“Like the salon performances that forged a coexistence between languages and forms of expression – vocal, musical, choreographic and poetic –, we have created a heterogeneous recital during which historic musical and choreographic works by Isadora Duncan, Claude Debussy , and Nijinsky resonate with the contemporary notions inspired by the impression left by this artistic moment.

 

“This miniature recital is a revelation of the reality and strangeness of these bodies and voices which, in the first third of the 20th century – frightened and fascinated by a world plagued by new metamorphoses –, dreamed of recapturing an intensity of their own. This paradoxical dream, torn between the nostalgia of a vanished world, the illusion of returning to a state of fantasised nature, and a passion for travel, is a chance for a body, weakened by melancholy and modern life, to affirm its sensual and sexual power.”

 

 

François Chaignaud


CREATION TEAM

Choreography and performance: François Chaignaud

Piano: Adriano Spampanato

© Martin Raphaël Martiq - Fondation Louis Vuitton - 2017
Slider

Récital

« Dans l’immensité de l’exposition Chtchoukine présentée à la Fondation Louis Vuitton, invitant à la déambulation et à la circulation entre les œuvres et les langages, nous imaginons de créer un havre, un salon, un intérieur de rêve, parmi l’impressionnant ensemble de Matisse rassemblé ici.

Recréant la situation du récital de salon, qui a joué un rôle majeur dans l’avènement d’une modernité chorégraphique au vingtième siècle, nous proposons un programme de courtes pièces, qui se déploient dans l’intimité troublante de ce théâtre domestique.

À la manière de ces spectacles de salon qui faisaient coexister les langages, les expressions – vocales, musicales, chorégraphiques, poétiques… nous imaginons un récital hétérogène pendant lequel les oeuvres historiques (musicales et chorégraphiques) d’Isadora Duncan, de Claude Debussy, ou de Nijinsky côtoient des dérives contemporaines inspirées par l’impression que ce moment artistique a laissé.

À travers ce récital miniature, apparaissent l’actualité et l’étrangeté de ces corps et de ces voix, qui, dans le premier tiers du 20ème siècle, effrayés et fascinés par un monde en proie à des mutations inédites, ont rêvé, de reconquérir une intensité propre.  Ce Rêve paradoxal, déchiré entre la nostalgie d’un monde disparu, l’illusion du retour à un état de nature fantasmé, et le goût du voyage, permet l’affirmation de la puissance sensuelle et sexuelle d’un corps anémié par le spleen et la vie moderne… »

 

François Chaignaud


ÉQUIPE DE CRÉATION

Chorégraphie, danse et chant : François Chaignaud

Piano : Adriano Spampanato