Думи мої – Dumy Moi

 

I am dreaming of this piece as a remedy. A remedy from the rituals of Western theatre, its frontality, its strict temporality, its relationship to power. Therefore, we will be performing within a closed space, without wings or sets. Close to one another. Limited in number. All on the same level, no risers, no fourth wall. Withinthese conditions, one can choose one’s own viewing hour, as the show will take place several times per day – like a movie theatre schedule or street theatre performance loop. We will take advantage of this intimacy, of this proximity, of this enclosure to enjoy a spectrum of delicacies and outrageous acts. This would feel a little like the style of theyyam dances in Malabar, where the dancers, in wondrous, monumental costumes transform into gods and are also brought closer to the men and women gathered to watch and solicit them.

Driven by the bewitching rhythms of Ukrainian, Philippine, or Sephardic music, I imagine this multi-lingual recital captured within a costume-sculpture by Romain Brau as a sinuous mix of dance, of song…and of liquors.

François Chaignaud

 

Premiere at Festival Montpellier Danse, July 2013

Design and performance : François Chaignaud
Costumes : Romain Brau
Light design : Philippe Gladieux
Technical manager : Anthony Merlaud
Music advisor : Jérôme Marin
Adaptations  : Antoine Bernollin
Sound mix : Jean-Michel Olivarès

Administration / production : Cécile Vermorel
Diffusion : Sarah de Ganck / Art Happens
Thanks to : Viktor Ruban, Cecilia Bengolea, Christelle Hano, Philippe Laboual, Philippe Blanc, Pascal Quéneau

Production : Vlovajob pru

Coproduction : Festival Montpellier Danse 2013, Festival d’Automne à Paris, Centre de Développement Chorégraphique Toulouse / Midi-Pyrénées, Gessnerallee Zürich, deSingel Internationale Kunstcampus (Antwerp), Ménagerie de Verre (Paris)

Vlovajob Pru is funded by DRAC Poitou-Charentes and is supported by the Institut Français for its projects abroad
François Chaignaud is La Ménagerie de Verre (Paris) associate artist

Думи мої – Dumy Moyi

 

Je rêve de cette pièce comme d’un antidote. Antidote aux rituels du théâtre occidental, de sa frontalité, de sa périodicité, de son rapport de forces. Nous serons donc dans un lieu clos, sans gradins ni scène. Proches les uns des autres. Peu nombreux. De plain pied. On pourra choisir son heure, car le spectacle aura lieu plusieurs fois par jour – comme les différentes séances de cinéma ou de théâtre forain. Et nous profiterons de cette intimité, de cette proximité, de cet écrin pour jouir de la délicatesse et de la démesure – un peu à la manière des rituels de theyyam dans le Malabar, pendant lesquels les superbes costumes monumentaux des danseurs devenus dieux les distinguent et en même temps les rapprochent de celles et ceux venus les voir et les solliciter.

Rythmé par des airs d’envoutements ukrainiens, philippins ou séphardiques, j’imagine ce récital polyglotte pris au piège d’un costume-sculpture de Romain Brau comme une distribution sinueuse de danses, de chants … et de liqueurs.

François Chaignaud

 

*Думи мої se prononce Dumy Moyi

Spectacle créé pour le Festival Montpellier Danse 2013

Conception / interprétation : François Chaignaud
Costumes : Romain Brau
Conception lumières : Philippe Gladieux
Régie : Anthony Merlaud
Conseil musical : Jérôme Marin
Adaptations / chef de chant : Antoine Bernollin
Mixage son : Jean-Michel Olivares
Administration / production : Cécile Vermorel
Diffusion : Sarah de Ganck (Art Happens)
Remerciements : Viktor Ruban, Cecilia Bengolea, Christelle Hano, Philippe Laboual, Philippe Blanc, Pascal Quéneau

 

 

Production : Vlovajob pru

Coproduction : Festival Montpellier Danse 2013, Festival d’Automne à Paris, Centre de Développement Chorégraphique Toulouse / Midi-Pyrénées, Gessnerallee Zürich, deSingel Internationale Kunstcampus (Anvers), Ménagerie de Verre (dans le cadre du Studiolab, laboratoire de recherche)

Vlovajob Pru est subventionnée par la DRAC Rhône Alpes et reçoit l’aide de l’Institut Français pour ses projets à l’étranger.
Cecilia Bengolea et François Chaignaud sont en résidence longue à l’Echangeur – CDC Picardie (2014-2015-2016) et reçoit l’aide de l’Institut Français pour ses projets à l’étranger.

François Chaignaud est artiste associé à la Ménagerie de Verre (Paris)